Meet the Annual Meeting Committee

Jafar Golzarian, MD, FSIR

Chair, 2015 Annual Meeting Program


As SIR 2015’s Program Chair, Jafar Golzarian, MD, FSIR, is responsible for the overall planning of SIR 2015 with a focus on the plenary sessions, featured symposia, categorical courses and other special programs at the meeting. Dr. Golzarian, who is on SIR’s Executive Council, has been a member of SIR since 2002 and an SIR Fellow since 2013. Dr. Golzarian has served on several committees, including as chair of the Professional Education Committee. Dr. Golzarian is the division head of interventional radiology and vascular imaging at the University of Minnesota in Minneapolis.


J. Fritz Angle, MD, FSIR

Chair, 2015 Workshop Program


J. Fritz Angle, MD, FSIR, is an SIR Fellow and has served on several committees within all divisions of the Society. In his role ast workshop program chair, Dr. Angle is responsible for more than 80 different workshop sessions covering more than 50 distinct topics from clinical IR to practice building. For 2015, to maximize the educational experience through intense, specialized learning opportunities that leverage audience interaction, he has expanded the workshop itinerary with new workshop formats, inlcuding In-the-Clinic and In-the-Lab. Dr. Angle is a professor of radiology and division director at the University of Virginia Health System in Charlottesville.


Robert Lewandowski, MD, FSIR

Chair, 2015 Scientifc Program


SIR 2015’s Scientific Program Chair Robert Lewandowski, MD, FSIR, is responsible for guiding the blinded peer-review process for abstract submission and selection and for arranging the abstracts selected annually into an organized oral and poster presentation program. Dr. Lewandowski, who is an associate professor in radiology and director of interventional oncology at Northwestern University's Robert H. Lurie Comprehensive Cancer Center, also oversees the selection of the featured and distinguished abstracts as well as the meeting’s poster awards program. An SIR member since 2003, Dr. Lewandowski has been involved with SIR’s Y90 course since its inception in 2011, and he served as a program coordinator for the 2014 course.


Daniel B. Brown, MD, FSIR

Chair, 2014 Annual Meeting Program


Daniel B. Brown, MD, FSIR, is a nationally recognized leader in the field of interventional oncology and chief of interventional oncology and professor of radiology at Vanderbilt University in Nashville, Tennessee. Dr. Brown, who served as program chair for SIR's 2014 Annual Meeting in San Diego, has been an SIR Fellow since 2011 and is an active participant in numerous SIR initiatives. He has served as chair of the Professional Education Committee and the Interventional Oncology Task Force subcommittee on education as well as councilor of the Postgraduate Education Division and member of the Annual Scientific Meeting Committee.


Gail Egan, NP

Clinical Associate Committee Liaison


As the Annual Scientific Meeting’s Clinical Associate Committee liaison, Gail Egan, NP, works with both the Annual Scientific Meeting and Clinical Associate committees to develop the clinical associates’ educational pathway and works to develop dedicated educational programming for all nurse practitioner, physician assistant, radiology practitioner assistant and radiology assistant attendees. Gail Egan has been an SIR member since 2000.